S2000 Racing and Competition The S2000 on the track and Solo circuit. Some of the fastest S2000 drivers in the world call this forum home.

Racing Harness Installation - Information and Recommendations

Old 08-17-2003, 01:39 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I'd like to start an informative thread on race harness installation in the S2000. I've done a lot of reading on the subject and think our community would benefit from these reports followed by critiques, corrections and support for these concepts.

**Disclaimer - I am not a safety engineer, just an S2000 enthusiast that has read a lot of literature from harness manufacturers and posts on racing web boards. The following information is summarized from sources cited at the end of the post.**

Overview:
The restraint systems in the S2000 is very effective at reducing the likelihood of injury or death in the event of an accident. However, even the most sophisticated restraint system in the world cannot protect against all foreseeable impacts. If you choose to use aftermarket restraint systems, it is very important to recognize the disadvantages as well as the benefits as compared to the stock system.

During a crash, the main goal of your restraint system is to spread deceleration forces over as wide an area as possible, to prevent you from being ejected from the vehicle, and keep you from moving around in the cabin. The factory restraint system achieves these goals very well, with its main drawback of not holding the body in position when driving hard. A properly installed aftermarket harness system achieves this latter goal, and should achieve the former ones, but is difficult to install and wear properly.

Harnesses: